Name : Shri. Tarun Gogoi
Father's Name : Late Dr. Kamaleswar Gogoi
Date of Birth : 01/04/1936
   Academic Qualification
1. B.A. from J.B. College, Jorhat (Assam)
2. L.L.B. from Gauhati University (Assam)
a. Permanent Address: Nazir Ali, P.O.-Jorhat-785001, Assam
b. Present Address : Chief Minister's Residence, Guest House No.1, Khanapara, Guwahati
   Positions Held
a. Member, Municipal Board, Jorhat : 1968
b. Elected to 5th Lok Sabha. (1st term) : 1971
c. Joint Secretary, All India Congress Committee : 1976
d. Re-elected to 6th Lok Sabha (2nd term) : 1977
e. Re-elected to 7th Lok Sabha (3rd term). Joint Secretary All India Congress Committee (I) : 1983
f. General Secretary, All India Congress Committee (I) : 1985
g. President, Pradesh Congress Committee P.C.C.(I), Assam : 1986-90
h. Vice-President, P.C.C.(I), Assam
i. Re-elected to the 10th Lok Sabha (4th term) : 1991
j. Union Minister of state (Independent Charge), Ministry of Food : 1991-93
k. Union Minister of State (independent Charge), Ministry of Food Processing Industry : 1993-95
l. Elected as Member of Assam Legislative Assembly : 1997-98
m. Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (5th term) : 1998
n. Member, Committee on Government Assurances.
Member, Committee on External Affairs.
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas : 1998-99
o. Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (6th term) : 1999
p. Member, Committee on Railways : 1999-2000
q. Assumed the Office of Chief Minister, Assam for five successful years : 17th May, 2001
r. Elected as Member of ALA : Sept. 2001
s. Assumed the Office of Chief Minister, Assam for second consecutive term : May, 2006
t. Assumed the Office of Chief Minister, Assam for third consecutive term : May, 2011
   Social and Cultural Activities
Ex Treasurer, All Assam Moina Parijat & Children's Organisations and Ex Chairman, Bharat Yuvak Samaj
   Other Information
Ex Director, Vayudoot; Member, Bar Council, Assam; Ex Chairman, Assam Small Scale Industries Development Corporation; Ex Vice-President J.B. College Students' Union; and Assam Inter College Students' Union; former Joint Secretary, Jorhat Law College; and Ex Commander, Students' Volunteer Corps.
   Political Party Affiliation
Indian National Congress (I)
Telephone (Off)
Telephone (Res)
Cellphone No.
Smti T.Y. Das
Commissioner & Secretary to CM, Assam
+91 361 - 2237039
+91 361 - 2361895
Jatindra Lahkar
Joint Secretary, CM's Secretariat
+91 361 - 2237046
Anjan Bordoloi
Joint Secretary, CM's Secretariat
+91 361 - 2262474
Chinmoy Saikia
PPS to Chief Minister
+91 361 - 2237041
+91 361 - 2222680
Ranjan Kumar Chakraborty
Deputy Secretary, CM's Secretariat
+91 361 - 2261781
Prakash Ranjan Gharphalia
PS to Chief Minister (in the rank of Under Secy)
+91 361 - 2261781
Ranjan Sarma
PS to Chief Minister (in the rank of Under Secy)
+91 361 - 2261781
Saurabh Senapati
EAC, Kamrup (Metro) att. to CM's Secretariat
» District Information
Find government services and resources available in your district
» Calendar
» Search the site